DEV Community

Cover image for How to start freelancing as a beginner
Pasca Vlad
Pasca Vlad

Posted on • Originally published at blog.vladpasca5.com

How to start freelancing as a beginner

If you found value in this thread you will most likely enjoy my tweets too so make sure you follow me on Twitter for more information about web development and how to improve as a developer. This article was first published on my Blog
Starting freelancing is hard

You have no idea what it is and how to do it

I was there too, and after doing a lot of research I learned how to do it

Now I want I save you the research time with this

This is how to start freelancing as a beginner

First, let's clarify what a freelancer is

A freelancer is a person who provides a service to other

That could be:

  • Web Design
  • Web Development
  • Facebook ads
  • Email marketing
  • And more

So, you start freelancing by selling a service to other

But there is more

The first thing you need to do is choose what service you want to provide

I think that most of you all already know that but if you don't do this:

Think about something you are naturally good at or something you enjoy doing

If you're good at writing sell copywriting

If you're good at design sell web design or graphic design

It's as simple as that

After you choose your skill you need to learn that

Spend no more than 3 months on this

Study from everything you can find online

  • Youtube
  • Online courses
  • Twitter
  • Get mentors

You can't offer a service to others if you can't bring them results

So first focus on learning a skill

After you did that it's time to choose your niche and craft your offer

Why do you need a nice?

Because you can't sell your service to everyone

You need to target a specific group of people and learn as much as you can about their problems

So think about who do you want to work with and choose that niche

Keep in mind that the people you want to work with need to afford your service

After you choose your niche it's time to do the market research

This is one of the most important parts of your freelancing career to be fair

You need to spend some time to find out what your potential clients struggle with

  • Talk with people from your niche
  • Study how they run their businesses
  • Use Reddit

Stuff like that

Your goal is to find a big problem that those people have and that you can solve with your service

After you did that, half of the job is done

The next step you need to take is to create your offer

So this looks something like this

"I will X achieve Y with Z"

Where X is the niche you're targeting

Y is the problem you're solving

And Z is the service you're offering

After you have your offer done it's time to create a personal website

I think this is crucial because you need to have a place where you can show:

  • Your offer
  • Some of your work
  • The testimonials you'll get in the future

Don't spend too much time on this one, just build something with Carrd in a few hours

After you did that, it's time for the outreach

To do this I have a few threads where I explain everything you need to do next

  1. https://twitter.com/VladPasca5/status/1450801786261020674

In the thread from above, I explain the strategy I use to get my freelancing clients

And I recommend using this too

  1. https://twitter.com/VladPasca5/status/1458412628041101321

In this one, I teach you everything you need to know about outreach and how to do it the right way

After you read all of these threads you are ready to start freelancing

All you have to do is now is take action

If you follow the "roadmap" I gave you here I can guarantee that you'll succeed as a freelancer

Now get to work!

I hope found this useful and if you did please let me know. If you have any questions feel free to DM me on Twitter

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
gamerseo profile image
Gamerseo

Many of our best employees started out with free projects for friends. I guess everyone started out that way.