DEV Community

Cover image for How I made over $700 in sales with a Gumroad product (and how you can too)
Pasca Vlad
Pasca Vlad

Posted on • Originally published at blog.vlddev.live

How I made over $700 in sales with a Gumroad product (and how you can too)

If you found value in this thread you will most likely enjoy my tweets too so make sure you follow me on Twitter for more information about web development and how to improve as a developer. This article was first published on my Blog

First thing first, I created an audience

I didn't create it to promote an info product in the future, I created it because I loved to create content

So when I first thought about creating an eBook I was at 7-8k followers already

How I came up with the idea?

I thought about all the questions I get in my DMs every day

And those were about: what resources to use, how to improve as a dev, advice for newbie devs, etc

So I thought: why not include a section about all of these topics in an eBook

Then I created the product on @gumroad and contacted @hustlewithcata to help me create the cover (highly recommended)

I decided to create the eBook as a Notion page since that is easier and looks better than a PDF

I was already working at the eBook for the last 7 days when I decided to open the Pre-Orders for the eBook

And that's what I did

I wrote a tweet where I announced that my eBook is available for Pre-Orders

Here is the tweet - https://twitter.com/VladPasca5/status/1379778483572776963?s=20

It performed well and brought over $100 in sales on the first day and Another $200 in the next 7 days until I launched

After 7 days I finished the product and decided to launch since I already had a few good reviews (which helped me a lot)

For the launch, I did the same thing, posted a tweet (this one https://twitter.com/VladPasca5/status/1382318721910202368?s=20) and waited

That tweet brought another $200 in sales so I was already at $500

The other $200 came from my pinned tweet (the one about the launch) and word of mouth

I didn't promote the eBook on Reddit or other social media platforms. Just Twitter

So here are all the stats after one month

Over 1600 views
Almost 100 sales
$667 in revenue

So, how can you do this too?

  1. Build an audience around something you are passionate about (and you're quite good at)

  2. Find the problems your audience has

  3. Think about the solution to solve that problem

  4. Create that solution and put it into an eBook/video course

  5. Promote it to your audience

One last thing...

It is not as hard as it might seem right now

I know, you might fail. But it doesn't matter

Treat it like a learning experience and you can only win.

Btw here is my eBook if you are interested -> https://gumroad.com/l/web-developer-knowledge

The end

I hope found this useful and if you did please let me know. If you have any question feel free to DM me on Twitter .

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

Hey Vlad,
I love the blue/black boxed packaging you have displayed for your product. How did you produce that? Is it totally CG or did you print out the cover on nice paper and wrap it yourself.
The packaging makes it look very authoritative.
Nice

Collapse
 
pascavld profile image
Pasca Vlad

Someone from twitter made it for me, you can get one by DMing her here twitter.com/hustlewithcata

Collapse
 
tnvmadhav profile image
TnvMadhav⚡

Great article!

Collapse
 
pascavld profile image
Pasca Vlad

glad you liked it