DEV Community

Marco Pasqua
Marco Pasqua

Posted on

Summary of Hacktoberfest

Hi everyone, seeing as how today is the last day of Hacktoberfest I figured it would be appropriate to make a recap of my Hacktoberfest experience.

What Did I do During Hacktoberfest and How did I progress?

During Hacktoberfest, I made four PRs to other repos. You can learn about them in the blog posts below, but I'll also summarize some of them.

  1. First Pull Request of Hacktoberfest
  2. Second PR of Hacktoberfest
  3. Third Hacktoberfest PR
  4. Last PR of Hacktoberfest

Before I started making my contributions, I had a hard time finding a repo to contribute to as I was coming across a lot of big repos that made me nervous to work on. I knew that I had to start off small and work my way up to make myself more comfortable. I first started off by updating the documentation on a repo to have a table of contents, which is my first post. The next contributions I made were enhancements to repos I found. These enhancements ranges from adding in new calculators to a project, as seen in my second and fourth blog post. To updating the logos used for X (formerly Twitter) that were used in the repo I selected for my third blog post.

What did I learn?

I learned a few things about Docker, which I had to use in my third contribution. I also learned that people in the open source community can be really friendly when assigning an issue to you and will offer to help you where they can. Since in my third issue, I struggled with getting the logo to display in its respective colour for dark and light mode. The repo owner gave me some advice, but I decided to try something that I found online which managed to work for me and the owner. Going forward I know that I don't have to be so shy when it comes to working on other repos and solving their issues, since the owners are also in it to make sure that their project can be the best it can be.

That concludes this blog post, once again thank you for reading this post and following my journey through Hacktoberfest. It means a lot and I'll catch you all in the next post.

Top comments (0)