DEV Community

Pacharapol Withayasakpunt
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

Posted on

What is the best frontend solution, considering SEO?

I think CMS's are moving away from SEO, targeting only backend simplification.

For frontend, plugins and community packages included, what is the best for SEO? Is it Gatsby? What about Hugo?

What about CMS integration? Does it have to be GraphQL? Or, is it strict to flat file?

We also have to consider on "how to move away from boilerplates" as well, in order to have only what you expect, and not making all websites look the same.

If SSG, I think will also have to consider CI/CD integration to hook into new deployment, and is incremental build possible?

Also, can SSG?

  • Hook into API?
  • JavaScript integration?

All in all, the bottom line is still how to move into the first Search Engine page...

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

I reality, I am current trying Next.js; not knowing better it is better or worse than Gatsby? But I am quite sure it is

  • API enabled
  • Not even sure if react/helmet is still alive, but I am sure that next/head is still maintained (by a paid company hosting zeit.co).
  • Not forcing to use GraphQL. -- Does it even matter?, as there is almost no eventual API calls on the generated site, anyway.
Collapse
 
coder618 profile image
Ahadul Islam

I am doing laravel with my custom html static generator, I dump nextjs. Haha

Collapse
 
johnboscobenedict profile image
johnboscobenedict • Edited

I'm doing Laravel also, btw which SEO strategy would recommend for a laravel app?

Collapse
 
coder618 profile image
Ahadul Islam

Follow the Google SEO guidelines should be enough :)

Thread Thread
 
johnboscobenedict profile image
johnboscobenedict

Alright, I'll do that. Thanks

Collapse
 
sana profile image
Sana • Edited

I would like to add more on SEO. Regarding the front-end solution, I completely agree that Gatsby and Hugo are good choices. However, if one wants to improve SEO hard work, it’s important for him/her to understand what is seo is and what all other factors can help them succeed.

Collapse
 
simondodson profile image
SIMON DODSON

ranking js is still a tiresome process over traditional builds, even the head of google product said if your in ecom stay away from js. i feel thats a pretty good indication crawlers still struggle with manifests an deep level dynamic linking

Collapse
 
souksyp profile image
Souk Syp. • Edited

I tried Next but finally decided to stick with what I already knew and used (Lapis on OpenResty) for better Seo and put javascript like a cherry on top for better experience.

I had a hard time trying to understand shared state between server and client side. When navigate back and forth, the concept becomes abstract. I lost the current state of my app.

Collapse
 
louy2 profile image
Yufan Lou

SEO in the end is largely not a technical problem. As long as you have access to the head, the rest is more about how to adapt your generator to output the meta tags according to your API.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

As a long as it is prerendered (SSG), not Javascript controlled (SPA).

Collapse
 
payamnasheed profile image
Payam Nasheed

I am doing seo my onlinequranclasses.com/ and myqurantutor.com/

I made some my own strategies and I am getiing good results. Your websites should be fast and your content should be unique and do somthing new.