DEV Community

Paul Truong
Paul Truong

Posted on

From a user perspective, what annoys you the most about websites today?

I see lots of discussion about developer experience, frameworks and paradigms but not so much about the user experience on the web. I would love to hear about the problems you face on the web as I first and developer second.

Additionally, what do you think we can do improve the user experience on the web? Ready? Go!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

Very good question, really!

I think every website must have a "red line". That means that you go on the site and you know where to go or what to do next. A good example is something like a big start button with little text.
I know its not that good for search engines but I think its more user friendly.

However, a good menu is very important. Not so many entries, but good ordered.
You should check it regulary.

Collapse
 
paultruong profile image
Paul Truong

The 'red line' idea sounds very interesting. I'd be interested to hear more about it. Are you saying we should be directing the user more to where they need to go using call to actions etc?

100% agree with a good and intuitive menu

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

Yes, I think so.

It should be like registration, but not so strict:
You have to follow some steps to get all informations. But if you want to, you can get out of this 'cage'. A possible way can be call to actions. Like I said with big flashy buttons :D