DEV Community

Pavel Polívka
Pavel Polívka

Posted on

Stuff I use daily to make me more productive

This will be a strange article. I want to describe the stuff I use (software or hardware) that makes me productive and my life easier. This will not be a list of IDEs, libraries, etc... This will be a strange compilation of useful things that made me happy. And happy people are productive people.

Jabra headset

Amazon

I used quite a few headphones, microphones, etc.. set up to do my meetings. This one is the best for me. It's comfortable to wear, it can be connected to my Mac and phone at the same time, so that I can answer phone calls, do meetings, listen to music, etc.. with just one device. The audio quality is really good. The best thing is that the Bluetooth range is pretty far, so I can go through almost the whole house, without worrying about the range. It's not super cheap, but I would recommend buying it.

Moleskine notebook

Amazon

I am a pen and paper guy. I am not able to write my notes, TODOs, etc.. into any app. I find most apps annoying and hard to customize. With pen and paper, you can do almost anything. As my main notebook, I choose a large Moleskine notebook with squares. Why squares? you can easily draw UI sketches, etc.. with squares. I usually have one per year.

Nice keyboard

Keychron.com

whatever you do invest into a proper keyboard. I prefer mechanical ones. My keyboard of choice now is Keychron K3. It's ultra-slim tenkeyless, very nice to type.

Kindle

Amazon

I love reading. It can be books, long articles, etc... I use Kindle for all of that. I just send everything there. Whenever I have few minutes I pick it up and read. This is how I stay current on all the technologies.

HEY

HEY

I switched to Hey from Gmail whenever I got my invite. I never looked back. It's so much better. Have a look.

Mindly

Mindly

I do not like apps for note-taking or TODOs, but for mind maps I much prefer Mindly. It's super easy to use, looks gorgeous and it's free (for a limited number of objects). You can hardly find a better app for mind maps.


This is just a shortlist that helps me be productive every day. What helps you? You can always reach me on my Twitter to discuss.

Top comments (0)