DEV Community

PetrTodorov
PetrTodorov

Posted on

Hacktoberfest 2020 slowly heading towards the end

Yes, we can do it! Wait, I just did it :-)

Happy to say, I succeeded in getting things done, hopefully the right way, once again.

The motivation

My contributions were neother large, nor within any really famous repo. However, I tried to follow the rules and make a real contribution, as always. My PRs got not only approved, but also some "claps" came by :-)

Such appreciation always fills me with energy I save for the future contribution efforts (within or besides Hacktoberfest).

Don´t give up, keep rolling

It comes to a good use the times I struggle to find a suitable repo and/or issue, follow the contribution guidelines and finish the task. Of course, it´s not easy every time you give it a try. Thankfully, the community is so supportive and will guide you, should you get lost or get in need of help.

Make contributions, not SPAM

All in all, Hacktoberfest 2020 is slowly coming to its end. But there´s still time to contribute your work in some of the participating repos in order to get 4 PRs completed or just for the good feeling.

One advice, if I can

There are plenty detailed tutorials on contributing to open source. If you´ve read this far, let me give you just one advice.

Do not choose inactive repos. Rather, find some actively maintained and yet better popular and widely used repos. There you can make a really meaningful contribution which will come to a good use.

Happy contributing :)

Top comments (0)