DEV Community

Philip John Basile
Philip John Basile

Posted on • Updated on

Declarative Programming Vs Imperative Programming

Image description

Imperative: My cat is hungry. I'll goto the pantry and grab a can. I'll unfurl the top and walk to the garbage can. At the garbage can I will open the lid with my foot and place said unfurled top with ease into said can. Cat looks at me. I look at cat. I goto the pantry again. I grab a disposable dish from the shelf. I flip the cat can into the dish. I hold the new almost empty cat can and place the disposable dish on the floor with the other hand. I walk to the trash can. I open it up with my foot. I chuck the can. I call the cat. The cat runs in. My cat is now eating.

Declarative: I'll feed my cat.

If you enjoy my technology-focused articles and insights and wish to support my work, feel free to visit my Ko-fi page at https://ko-fi.com/philipjohnbasile. Every coffee you buy me helps keep the tech wisdom flowing and allows me to continue sharing valuable content with our community. Your support is greatly appreciated!

Top comments (0)