DEV Community

Alex Pliutau
Alex Pliutau

Posted on

O means open. Simple CLI tool to open repository in browser.

Here is my small bash function! When you run it from the terminal it opens the GitHub/BitBucket/GitLab page in your browser for the git repository you are currently in. It has a short simple name o. I find myself doing this quite a lot as I am working with multiple repositories at the same time and switching to a browser, searching for correct link, etc.

Just type o :)

How to install

curl https://raw.githubusercontent.com/plutov/o/master/install.sh | sh
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Contribution

I have a plan to improve it to support remotes with usernames inside, and to support custom Git remotes. If you have more ideas you're welcome on this GitHub page.

Original post in my blog

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
defman profile image
Sergey Kislyakov

Thanks for this tool, I like it.