DEV Community

poponuts
poponuts

Posted on

Overcoming SameSite cookie issue in Cypress when running on Chrome or Edge

New year ๐ŸŽ‰, new me ๐Ÿคช... or maybe not, coz my โค๏ธ for Cypress has not died off... Well, almost.

You see, I just changed company last December (yey!) and my first few days were spent on building a basic automation framework. Understandably, first thing I tried out is the UI login ๐Ÿ”‘ (Sorry, API does not have the wow factor when you're doing a demo)

So, I told myself, "I got this and let me work my magic!" but boy, was I so wrong! Manually doing it, obviously, it works fine. Using Cypress' default browser, Electron, it works great. Having fun yet so far! Here we go... using Chrome, NA-DA โŒ! I got an 401 Unauthorised access error!

I could have been very lazy and just told everyone that if it works with Electron, then it should be fine but no, I was determined to make it work with Chrome. It took me maybe a couple of days, munching snacks while my belly blew up, and a thousand times clicking Stackoverflow and Github Cypress issues looking for an answer but there was none ๐Ÿ™…! I had to look outside Cypress and more on generic Javascript and after multiple hair-twisting re-tries scraping the XHR requests, I found the holy grail ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

With me hoping that customer churn rate with Cypress does not further increase, here's how you should do it:
Under cypress/plugins/index.js, include the following condition:

module.exports = (on, config) => {
    on('before:browser:launch', (browser = {}, launchOptions) => {
        if (browser.name === 'chrome' || browser.name === 'edge') {
            launchOptions.args.push('--disable-features=SameSiteByDefaultCookies') // bypass 401 unauthorised access on chromium-based browsers
            return launchOptions
        }
    })
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

With the above code, SameSite default cookie issues are by-passed when using Chromium-based browsers. This includes Edge so don't forget to include that browser in the condition.

Again, happy Cypress testing! ๐Ÿค—

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
richardbray profile image
Richard Oliver Bray

For those who still have this issue with the never version of Cypress I have a solution that might be helpful
dev.to/richardbray/fix-samesite-co...

Collapse
 
amgadhassannabil profile image
AmgadHassanNabil

Thank you very much this worked like magic :D been stuck in this for sometime

Collapse
 
zachwildd profile image
Zach Wild • Edited

Apparently as of Chrome 94 this flag has been removed and is enabled by default chromium.org/updates/same-site/