DEV Community

Pradeep CE
Pradeep CE

Posted on

I Quit My Job to Become an Indie Maker

I finally did it: I quit my well-paying full-time job a few days ago to become an indie maker!

For context, I am a 28-year old Indian male. I am single, and don’t have any financial dependents. I live in Chennai, India.

I’ve always wanted to build things with software. I’ve always wanted to travel, see places, understand different cultures, meet interesting people, and gain perspectives… and I wanted to do all this while working on things that I loved. I was fascinated to learn many years ago that there was a term for this: digital nomad. And another word for someone building something on their own: indie maker. I am not one for labels, but I did identify a lot with these.

It took me a few years, but I’ve finally taken the leap of faith. My dream is to build a bootstrapped company as a solo maker.

Have you been through a similar journey? What advice would you give yourself if you were to do it all over again?


You can find the more detailed blog post here.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
pradeep3 profile image
PradeepKumar K 🚀

Best of luck Pradeep 🙂️

Collapse
 
pradeepcep profile image
Pradeep CE

Thanks Pradeep :P