DEV Community

Cover image for My 3rd Year Of Hacktober fest Contribution Journey - 2023
Pratap Parui
Pratap Parui

Posted on

My 3rd Year Of Hacktober fest Contribution Journey - 2023

This isn't the for first time I've try participate in hacktober fest out with open-source projects that interest me. As a result of learning about a festival like Hacktoberfest, I was charged up and in the mood to spend a fruitful October.

So what is the Hacktoberfest ? 🤔

Hacktoberfest Overview:

Hacktoberfest is nothing but a month event promoting open-source contributions via platforms like GitHub/Gitlab. Participants aim to submit four pull requests, fostering collaborative coding and skill development.

Ways to Contribute:

  1. Explore Hacktoberfest Topics: Check GitHub's Hacktoberfest topic and filter issues labeled 'hacktoberfest' combined with specific programming languages to find suitable repositories.

  2. Find Good First Issues: Look for issues labeled 'good first issue' to identify beginner-friendly tasks with clear documentation.

  3. Consider Documentation Tasks: Contribute to projects labeled 'documentation' by improving comments and README files.

To know more about Hacktoberfest just read the below 👇🏼

OR Read the full blog at Mr Parui Web.live


My 3rd Journey Of Hacktoberfest.

As October draws to a close, I contemplate my transformative experience with Hacktoberfest. It's been a journey of discovery and collaboration, highlighting the rewards of contributing to open source.

I began my Hacktoberfest adventure with the excitement of a novice, embracing the opportunity to contribute to open-source repositories. What followed was a profound realization of the unity and camaraderie within the global developer community. Each pull request represented a step toward personal and collective growth.

My journey wasn't just about coding; it was about embracing the ethos of open source.

The Experience

  • I participated in Hacktoberfest by making contributions to various open-source projects on GitHub.

  • I set a goal to make at least four pull requests to meet the Hacktoberfest requirements and guess what I nearly made 11 PR and still 3 of them are pending to accept

  • Also got some Holopin Badges while contributing to Repositories 😁

HF Page PR

  • Simultaneously I also participated into HackSquad, and we have done very well performing at the beginning of the event but unfortunately our team is not doing an active contributions to Repos , but nevertheless it doesn't matter of Gifts or Swags but you have the courage to contribute to open source you will do it.

  • My contributions to all different repositories were satisfying, highlighting the importance of clear communication and teamwork in open-source projects.

Holopins Badges

  • I grasped the importance of clear and effective communication within open-source projects.

  • My confidence in contributing to practical projects increased substantially.

  • the fest is beyond technical contributions, fostering a philosophical shift towards shared learning and accessibility in the digital realm. It's a community dedicated to a greater collective purpose.

  • I effectively divided the key responsibilities within a personal project that had been on the backburner for some time. It was gratifying to witness the project's gradual enhancement with each subsequent iteration.

  • As I worked on multiple projects, I became more familiar with various aspects of open source contributions.

  • Along the way, I faced a variety of technologies and implementation issues that aided my development.

  • The difficulties experienced in each project varied greatly, whether it was dealing with installation intricacies or rectifying mistakes.

  • The combination of these encounters was a watershed moment in my development within the open source community.

  • Each project acted as a stepping stone, teaching me essential lessons and honing my problem-solving abilities, technical knowledge, and collaborative attitude.

  • These experiences opened the path for a more complete knowledge base, inspiring me to take on more complicated issues and contribute more.


Conclusion

If I were to sum up in one line, I definitely recommend you to register for Hacktoberfest.com begin making open-source contributions.

As my third Hacktoberfest concludes, I urge you to embrace the open-source philosophy, recognizing every line of code as a contribution to a collaborative and innovative landscape. Start with a pull request, and discover a path of growth and meaningful impact. Join me in celebrating the spirit of open source and its transformative journey.

That a End of my Article as well as Hacktoberfest Season too, so I appreciate you taking the time to read my article & You have given your valuable time and attention to this blog.

Thank you very much Have a pleasant day 😊

Top comments (0)