DEV Community

Precious Chicken
Precious Chicken

Posted on

Self-promotion in dev.to comments: Spammy / not spammy?

So I'm reading an interesting how-to post on XYZ on dev.to; it's in a field I'm interested in. Someone has commented, "great post, next time maybe cover ABC too?"

So I've written just such a how-to post on XYZ which covers ABC! Do I comment and link? Is this being horrifically self-promoting and spammy? Or is this expected / encouraged within the dev.to community?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Well what you could do is in the post that covers ABC, write a comment and tag the person that initially commented wanting to know about said topic. That's a non-spammy way of doing it.

Collapse
 
preciouschicken profile image
Precious Chicken

Nice compromise.

Collapse
 
hemantgovekar profile image
Hemant Govekar

I won't mind having a link below my articles which helps extend my article. Nice question.

Collapse
 
preciouschicken profile image
Precious Chicken

👍

Collapse
 
codinronan profile image
codinronan

I don't think this is spammy. There's certainly a spammy way of doing it, but simply saying it the way you mentioned would, at least for me, be welcomed. No post can cover the entirety of any issue so adding more info and context is (almost) always useful.