DEV Community

Cover image for How I setup a new machine for development
Programming is a Joke
Programming is a Joke

Posted on

How I setup a new machine for development

Recently I purchased the new Acer Nitro 5 AN515-58 as my Lenovo Yoga 720-13ikb 80x6 can no longer support my development needs. As this is my first blog I hope this is not cringey.

Machine: Acer Nitro 5 AN515-58
Operating System: Windows 11, Fedora 36
Editors: VS Code, Sublime Text, Android Studio, IntelliJ Idea
Programming Languages: Python, Flutter, Java, JavaScript, Node
Productivity: Cron Calendar, Notion, Anytype, Spotify, Discord, Todoist
Extensions: Vitesse Theme, Flutter, Python, Prettier, Carbon Product Icons, Codesnap
Other Apps: Postman, Chrome, Brave

Write you own setup down below 👇


Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit

I wrote an article about this not too long ago.

TL:DR - Linux 20.04 on a Lenovo Ideapad, 16 GB ram, VSCode, ZSH. Mainly for JS/TS Vue development, soon Rust. Lots of apps focused on productivity and writing stuff down.

Collapse
 
lupree profile image
Luca Ramseyer

Currently I have

Machine: Surface Laptop 3
Editors: VS Code, Sublime Text, Visual Studio Enterprise
Programming Languages: Python, JavaScript, C#
Productivity: Notion, Discord, Microsoft Teams, Spotify (Probably Anytype soon)
Extensions: GitLens, Python, Prettier, SynthWave '84, Icons, Git Extension Pack

Collapse
 
aktoriukas profile image
Gedi

Question, why do you need 2 diffrent editors? vs Code & Sublime ?

Collapse
 
programmingisajoke profile image
Programming is a Joke

VS Code is my main editor. I use it for heavy weight projects and I use sublime for light weight projects for example a simple html css website