DEV Community

Tife Olatunji
Tife Olatunji

Posted on

Starting my Frontend Journey

I started learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript at the beginning of the year. I began with courses on Udemy and learned the theories of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. However, I struggled to use them practically, and I didn't know how to make a landing page or manipulate the DOM. I then resumed my studies in Big Data Analytics at the university for the summer term and focused hard on that, but I made plans for August to not give up on learning the front-end aspects of web development. I joined the Scrimba front-end career path, which cost $30 for the pro plan, to join a community where I could get code reviews, meet people, and ask questions.

Scrimba's interface for learning, which used scrim, was interactive, and the tutor carefully explained the basics of each concept, even using examples and showing how it is done in the real world, then bringing it to the current project he was using to teach. Through Scrimba, I finally learned about the box-model, which is the most crucial thing to know if you want to enjoy CSS and not get scared by it. I was so happy the first time I was able to make a full webpage with just five hours of learning the concepts of HTML and CSS.

I am currently learning JavaScript with Scrimba, and I love that they teach JavaScript starting with the DOM as well. So that way, it is easy to practice what I have learned and show it to my friends.

What I realized this month is that the best way to learn a new concept or programming language is to learn with a real project approach and also do challenges that would force you to build muscle memory and also google terms and read the documentation for concepts you don't understand.

If you want to check out the projects I worked on this August as someone just learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, you can visit my GitHub repo at Qayyax. I have many more things to learn, and I know not to give up on achieving this skill and creating new things.

Top comments (0)