DEV Community

Cover image for It's OVER 9000!!!
Ronald R
Ronald R

Posted on

It's OVER 9000!!!

For this FINAL HACKTOBERFEST SUBMISSION, I decided to create docstrings for a file. While it sounded simple enough, I encountered certain issues with submitting the file because they wanted a specific format for it, and I needed to ensure it was on par with all the other documents.

It was quite a list that I needed to fix, to sum it up:

Function Line Coverage
InvalidFileError (L32) 32 COVERED
VersionScanner (L36) 36 COVERED
VersionScanner.load_checkers (L78) 78 COVERED
VersionScanner.available_checkers (L89) 89 MISSED
VersionScanner.remove_skiplist (L96) 96 MISSED
VersionScanner.print_checkers (L107) 107 MISSED
VersionScanner.number_of_checkers (L110) 110 MISSED
VersionScanner.available_language_checkers (L117) 117 COVERED
VersionScanner.print_language_checkers (L130) 130 MISSED
VersionScanner.number_of_language_checkers (L133) 133 MISSED
VersionScanner.is_executable (L136) 136 COVERED
VersionScanner.is_linux_kernel (L174) 174 COVERED
VersionScanner.scan_file (L196) 196 COVERED
VersionScanner.run_checkers (L234) 234 MISSED
VersionScanner.clean_file_path (L272) 272 COVERED
VersionScanner.scan_and_or_extract_file (L284) 284 COVERED
VersionScanner.recursive_scan (L303) 303 MISSED

Everything that is missing is something I need to create a docstring. At this stage, all I know is commenting, and I have no clue what a docstring is. I thought that it was somehow related to a comment, but then again, comments are for unstructured and only for providing slight information. A docstring, on the other hand, provides a more detailed approach to what it is.

I was able to fix it, but they wanted me to use Python Black to format it and to pass a series of tests of seven types of verification. Ultimately, I was able to fix it and finish it properly.

In the end, the experience taught me the importance of clear and comprehensive documentation in software development.

Top comments (0)