DEV Community

Rajnish Pandey
Rajnish Pandey

Posted on

Share files-Photos between Mac and GooglePixel

I have always been annoyed by the hassle of moving files between my Mac and Google Pixel (6A). I was looking for a reliable, safe, and fast tool that doesn't cost me anything.

After some research, I found a tool that exceeded my expectations in terms of speed and efficiency.

Here is how I set it up:

I have a Google Pixel 6A and a MacBook Air M1, so I needed to transfer files from my Mac to the phone. I expected that was going to be involved but managed to find a version for it on GitHub.

So I installed the utility, and ran a couple of tests.

Transferred files from MacBook to Pixel

Transferred files from Pixel 6A to MacBook

Follow these steps to get started:

GitHub Link
Open the Terminal on your Mac and execute the following command:
brew install --no-quarantine grishka/grishka/neardrop

  1. You’re all set to go!

To send a file from your Mac, right-click on the file, choose the Share option, and select NearDrop.

On your Pixel, open the Files app and tap on Receive.

To share files from your phone to your Mac, just select the file, hit Share, and choose QuickShare. You’re ready to share!

Enjoy seamless file sharing!

Top comments (0)