DEV Community

Pavol Rajzak
Pavol Rajzak

Posted on

Gerrit notifications: How to tame them?

We are currently required to use Gerrit for our code reviews. While in general I am okay with the "one-review-per-commit" mechanism and I actually like how the review is done.

On the other hand, the user experience provided by Gerrit web UI is just terrible. For example you cannot even sort the changes by specific columns in table, which does not have even/odd lines in different colors (yes, I need to use my pen to track the information on one line on my 24" screen).

But the main productivity killer for us is the notification system. Only push-like notifications are sent via email, and they cannot be fine tuned (well, you can switch between plain-text and HTML or "all comments" and "comments left by others"). Therefore, you get a lot of SPAM which you need to manually go through. And it is not even aggregated like in other tools (e.g. BitBucket). While you can write scripts'n'filters in your favorite e-mail client, Outlook, for instance, is not my favorite client to tweak.

Therefore, I would really like to know, are there any alternatives to get meaningful push-like notifications?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
linden profile image
Anders Lindén • Edited

I have a love-hate relationship with gerrit, the user interface is terrible.

You might find a way as I did, integrate gerrit within your IDE. For me I have the luxury that there is an awesome Gerrit plugin for JetBrains Intellij plugins.jetbrains.com/plugin/7272-...

You might find other plugins for other IDEs, if not you can always develop one because gerrit have a REST-api.

Collapse
 
rapasoft profile image
Pavol Rajzak

Yes, I've been using Gerrit Intellij plugin, but it really didn't have the realtime notifications I would like to have. Anyway, I ended up writing my own simple UI just for the notification part (web app with browser notifications)