DEV Community

Cover image for Control desktop YouTube with your mobile phone as remote
Raunasur
Raunasur

Posted on

Control desktop YouTube with your mobile phone as remote

GitHub logo Raunasur / mobile-yt-controller

Control desktop YouTube with your mobile phone as remote

mobile-yt-controller

Control desktop YouTube with your mobile phone as remote

It happened yesterday, that we were watching a really boring movie. My laptop was at a distance and me and my family were sitting relaxed. But when some intolerable scenes came, I had no option but to standup, go to the laptop, and either forward the scene or change the speed. During that time I wished I had a remote control for YouTube and today I made it.

Usage:

git clone https://github.com/Raunasur/mobile-yt-controller.git
cd mobile-yt-controller
pip install qrcode[pil]
pip install flask
pip install pyautogui
python mobile-yt-controller.py

Now scan the qrcode with a smartphone connected to the same network (simply put, with the same router or hotspot). Open the web page, use the buttons and if you liked it. Drop a star.






It happened yesterday, that we were watching a really boring movie. My laptop was at a distance and me and my family were sitting relaxed. But when some intolerable scenes came, I had no option but to standup, go to the laptop, and either forward the scene or change the speed. During that time I wished I had a remote control for YouTube and today I made it.

Usage:

git clone https://github.com/Raunasur/mobile-yt-controller.git
cd mobile-yt-controller
pip install qrcode[pil]
pip install flask
pip install pyautogui
python mobile-yt-controller.py
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Now scan the qrcode with a smartphone connected to the same network (simply put, with the same router or hotspot). Open the web page, use the buttons and if you liked it. Drop a star on github.

Top comments (0)