DEV Community

Cover image for My First Experience in Hacktoberfest 2020 💭
Raihan Nismara
Raihan Nismara

Posted on • Updated on

My First Experience in Hacktoberfest 2020 💭

Intro

Hi everyone, my name is Raihan Nismara, a junior front-end developer at Codex by Telkom based in Indonesia. Joined DEV is really something with this you can share everything, what have you been experienced. And the reason why I'm participating in Hacktoberfest is because of swag. Yes! I'm a swag-man. 😆

Background

My PRs in Hacktoberfest were all accepted. Outstanding! I've gone above and beyond this Hacktoberfest and it's surprising. 🙌🏻

Contributions

Even what I can do is a small contribution, but I'm kinda proud of it. Working with a bunch of developers from all around the world, keeping the rules commit, reviewing each other code and all of it was fun. 👏🏻

    My Favorites Contribution this year:
  • digitalocean/hacktoberfest: adding a logo image of hacktoberfest2020 in their readme repo, first thing come-up in my head was easy contribution that I can handle it.
  • gitpoint/git-point: adding Indonesia translation, when I sorted the most stared js project in Hacktoberfest topic on GitHub. I found git-point where Bahasa in not in their option language, then why not if I can add the Indonesian language

Reflections

This pandemic made me more productive sometimes, the rest is made me wanna lay all day in my bed *haha, the lesson that I got from this Hacktoberfest is when you wanna create PR don't forget attached your output changes of code. It will get a better visualization of your changes for your reviewers 👌🏼 and definitely I'll be back joining the Hacktoberfest in the next year ❤️‍🔥

Alt Text

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rayhan_nj profile image
Raihan Nismara

dang it