DEV Community

Cover image for 🌱 Introducing the Climate Positive Public License! 🌱
Viorel PETCU
Viorel PETCU

Posted on

🌱 Introducing the Climate Positive Public License! 🌱

Hello everyone out there using open-source licenses,

I'm working on a new kind of license I'd like to present: the Climate Positive Public License (CPPL). It's still in its early stages, much like the weather outside, unpredictable and ever-changing. However, I believe it holds a lot of promise.

Why another license, you might ask? Well, the goal isn't just to create software, but to do so with a climate-positive footprint. The CPPL is designed to promote climate-friendly software practices, CO2 neutrality, carbon capturing, and more. It's an endeavor that's not just for me; it's for our planet.

The license is very much influenced by the GPL, and the core idea is simple:

Use this license for your software, and in return, make sure your software or project actively contributes to the betterment of the environment.

If not, support the cause in another manner, through environmental funds or other means.

In essence, it's a license with a conscience.

I won't claim the CPPL to be the solution to all our environmental concerns. I'm not even sure if it will gain traction, but I'm hopeful. What I do know is that it's another tool in the toolbox for developers who are conscious about the environment and wish to make a positive impact through their work.

I'd appreciate any feedback, ideas, or contributions. The project is open-source and is very much a collaborative effort. If you're curious or want to contribute, the repo is available on GitHub.

Would love to hear what you think!

Maybe take a look on GitHub.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
michelebitetto profile image
michelebitetto

Good idea 😊