DEV Community

Rehannah
Rehannah

Posted on • Updated on

1. My Tech Journey: Intro

1. Introduction
Sun 24th May, 2020

About Me:
Hello, my name is Rehannah and I'm currently 19 years old. I'm a girl from the Caribbean with an interest in tech and Computer Science.

Preface:
Although I studied Information Technology at A levels, I don't know anything much about Computer Science. I watched lots of videos and did few online courses but nothing actually concrete. I want to learn more programming languages.

Why my attempts to learn on my own so far have failed?
• I think I fell into "Tutorial Hell" as one of the coders I follow put it. I've just been watching YouTube videos without practicing anything.
• I've been intimidated by all I have to learn. Keep in mind I still have exams to study for and I have my hobbies too. There's so much time that goes into learning anything and with Comp Sci there's just so much to learn.

Why start this blog?
I started this blog because I was supposed to start learning Comp Sci and coding on my own in July after my exams were over so I'd be on the same level as those who did Comp Sci at A Levels when I went to uni in September. However, with the current pandemic I don't even know when my exams will be. So I decided to start this blog to help me be accountable in my learning journey. The final decision was made after seeing a similar blog by a boy in tech from my country. He was updating what he was learning each week with his mentor. I thought it was a great idea.

What's this blog about?
This blog will update once a week to document what I learnt that week. Hopefully, other beginners can use it as a self-learning framework or learn from my mistakes.

Peace,
Rehannah

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
codingknite profile image
Joel P. Mugalu

All the best on your journey