DEV Community

Reinhart Previano K.
Reinhart Previano K.

Posted on

This website redesign concept is a joke.

This blog post is also available on https://reinhart1010.github.io/posts/2021/02/25/this-website-redesign-concept-is-a-joke.html.

I've been recently experimenting on Figma about what should the final website design of https://reinhart1010.github.io should be, and here's the current progress of it.

image

The above mockup, in fact, is a resemblance of:

image

You can find some references here, from the navbar from one of my old websites, web browsers' "New Tab" page, my current website home page, YouTube Premium banners, as well as of course, the somewhat-overhyped Linktree page. Note that I am currently don't have any Linktree page, as I'm planning for publishing my own "Not Linktree" webpage, hopefully later in April.

This website concept is meant to be responsive. In fact, I have already created this mockup:

image

which is a potrayal of the emergence of super apps in Southeast Asia. In Indonesia, for example, we have apps like Gojek, Grab, Bukalapak, Tokopedia, Shopee, Traveloka, Tiket.com, DANA, LinkAja, ..., and even regional government apps such as JAKI (for Jakarta, Special Capital Region). Forget "Corporate Memphis" trends in places such as US and Europe, these (mostly) Indonesian-made apps looked the same in 2018-2019, starting with Gojek.

image

Why is joking important for myself

One of the ways UI/UX designers do to create their own designs is by, well, looking at designs of other products. From there you can find common trends, best practices, and have an overview of how some of those designs work well with their users. I've always wanted to make the https://reinhart1010.github.io website somewhat outstanding, beyond things such as portfolios and blogs. That's why I decided to find inspirations from other websites which cross the boundaries between "personal" websites and public ones.

In this case, I primarily take web browser "New Tab" pages as well as the aforementioned super apps, as those reflect my current and future projects which I'm working on. From a web developer to one of the Webcompat.com contributors, and currently starting to develop mobile apps, these inspirations (which I called them "jokes") indeed reflect the user interfaces I'm interacting every day.

I now consider that joking is one of the most creative ways to build unique and fun products. In fact, one of my friends joked about building a Tinder for Indonesia's local mom-and-pop stores, which won the first place at an university hackathon competition. If you're Indonesian enough you can watch a full overview of that joke here.

If you are interested to see the current progress of the website, you can visit https://github.com/reinhart1010 anytime. This redesign project is also part of a larger rebrand project I'm working on, which I will also occasionally post on https://github.com/reinhart1010/posts/category/rebrand20.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
epsi profile image
E.R. Nurwijayadi

Cool.

Keren bang.