DEV Community

Rémi de Juvigny
Rémi de Juvigny

Posted on

How do you introduce yourself to recruiters?

The 2019 State of JS survey results were published a few days ago, revealing many precious insights about the industry.

Among the questions asked was an odd one: How do you introduce yourself at parties? Of course, Twitter did its thing and had a good laugh picturing that social situation.

But what I find most unfortunate is that the options were limited to the traditional front-end, back-end, web and full-stack developers. As I'll be on the job market soon, I've been thinking about the best way to sell myself on the job market, while staying authentic.

If you could write your own job description, what would it be? How would you introduce yourself to a recruiter?

I've gathered a few titles that I find interesting:

  • UI developer/engineer
  • Creative developer
  • Product developer/engineer
  • Devops
  • Software developer/engineer
  • Software architect

The one that resonates with me is Product Developer. I like to have an impact on what I'm building, not just how I build it.

What about you?

Top comments (0)