DEV Community

Victor Adeleke Afolayan
Victor Adeleke Afolayan

Posted on • Updated on

Highlight of the last week

Phew! 😥 I tried cycling this weekend, and let's just say maybe I didn't get a hang of things so well. 😅😂

That aside, the last week was another brilliant week, as I not only got a few things done, but also kept on course with the mother goal, being to learn something brand new every single time.

I am at a place where growth is non-negotiable, as it is the foundation upon which we are built. I progressed working on my task, and while providing progress report, I explained how my goal was to make my implementation look so much like the template. Naturally sounds good, yeah? Well, I was made to realise one very vital lesson - the goal should be to make things better, going the extra mile than what is naturally expected. This was an eye opener as it meant thinking bigger and wider. Furthermore, it in the long run makes my implementation better, improving the outlook and functionality of the whole system.

Personally, I read up extensively on the use cases of asynchronous(async) programming, and I must tell you, developers are really smart people who spot "what ifs" and provide answers to them.

Asynchronous programming

Photo by Ferenc Almasi on Unsplash

What async does is to provide more control over behaviour of certain pieces of code and data; It gives a sense of being in control of what happens on my codebase(as it should be anyway).

In addition to this, I dug deeper on the true structure of the "if-else" conditional statement. (read here); I realised something fundamental: all that developers do is to simply put english language in programming language/syntax, i.e. everything line of code is simply the chosen line of thought of a developer, written in the syntax of the chosen language, hence, anyone who can simply structure out a way to solving a problem is naturally a developer, but what differentiates everyone from those practicing today is knowledge of one programming syntax or the other.

I think this is just one of the beauties of programming, as it makes room for anyone simply willing to learn how a programming language is structured and works. I believe this is sufficient to relieve anyone of the fear of never levelling up in the industry.

programming

Photo by James Harrison on Unsplash

That being said, although the process of learning is not well spoken of, it is a very powerful one that is applicable across board in life.

Remembering an adage in my mother tongue(Yoruba language -Nigeria) as quoted by my friend, Dr. John Bolu Bakare, "ko si ona abuja kan lori igi ope" being translated as "there is no shortcut anywhere on a palm tree", there is a path that everyone must tread in every chosen profession/course in life (programming inclusive), being "the process of learning and putting all knowledge to work so as to become a master in the course of time" as explained in Mark 4:26-28.

growth

Photo by Sandie Clarke on Unsplash

Although this process might seem long, gruelling and confusing, I believe it is what separates those making progress and obtaining mastery by the day from those that never began or stopped along the line. Remember, little drops of water, they say makes the mighty ocean in the end. A little here, a little there makes the barn full of wheat in the day of harvest. I will keep going, keep learning, and trust me, you are witnessing greatness.

In addition to learning new soft and hard skills, another highlight of my week was a fresh dose of Peer programming.

peer programming

Photo by Alvaro Reyes on Unsplash

Although I do not shy away from getting down, spending time to learn how to express my thoughts in programming language, whenever there is the opportunity to learn real-time from those ahead of me in the curve, I am always more than willing to be a part of it, as I am able to learn, save time, access my thought process and also know how best to put it into words when next I am in a similar shoe: Being told how to cross a river by an expert is good and awesome, but you know what is more awesome? being guided realtime on crossing the same river. I think teaching and providing guidance says more about the quality of the teacher though it demands of them patience and belief that their input today will grow and sum up into something unquantifiable in the end, as explained in Matthew 13:31-32.

A new week is here; Although I do not know details of the new challenge before me as at the time of writing this, I have no doubts whatsoever that it is already a good and perfect one.

EXTRAS:

In other news, Football ⚽️ might just be coming home. 🥳 🎉 🎊.

England Euros 2021

Photo by Anadolu Agency on Getty Images

The England men's national team are roaring so well in the ongoing European championship, and credit must be given to Gareth Southgate, who seems to have found different systems that work for his group of players. Learning from the case of Belgium men's football team, it is one thing to have a group of players who are individually excellent and one of the best (if not the best) in every position on the pitch, but it is another entirely to get them to function together and achieve success as a team. The so-called belgium golden generation have fallen short since I have known them as a group and once again, they did versus the Italians.
I wish the English all the best.

Lionel Messi is also gunning for the Copa America title this summer, and after a brilliant display in the quater-finals, I hope he wins it this time around.

Lionel Messi

Photo by Nelson Almeida on Getty Images

In Basketball 🏀, I recently fell in love with the Phoenix suns and now, the boys are in the NBA finals.

Phoenix Suns

Photo by Andrew D. Bernstein on Getty Images

Huge credit to the coach, Monty Williams(he is a brother BTW 😊). The boys have not particularly played well in the past three games, but hey, its been a tough post-season and I am going for the Suns in 4 🕺. Although the Milwaukee Bucks have shown commendable mental strength in the last two series, I'm going for a sweep.

BTW, anyone knows what is happening with Mercedes this F1 season? 😥😥😥

Mercedes F1

Photo by SOPA Images on Getty Images

The team has been all over the place this season 😓. Maybe this is going to make the sport more competitive anyway, which might be a necessary shakeup that improves the quality in the long run.

Conclusively, remember to keep believing this week, as it is what separates those who dream of success from those who eventually accomplish.

Catch me next weekend when I share my thoughts again...

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
r0zar profile image
Ross Ragsdale

Yeah. For coding questions the best trick is to solve the problem "manually" first, then reverse engineer what your brain is doing and convert that to code.

Collapse
 
rephidimc profile image
Victor Adeleke Afolayan

Simply put.
Thank you very much for your comment.

Collapse
 
r0zar profile image
Ross Ragsdale