DEV Community

ResoTap
ResoTap

Posted on

Project: Tic-tac-toe - Reflections.

As I begin another project I find myself failing to spend enough time planning. This ultimately leads to more road blocks and a general lack of direction. I need to acknowledge the benefits in giving each step of the process an appropriate amount of time. If I rush through one then that ultimately leads to issues in another.

It's easy to get restless and jump right into writing lines of code, after all, this feels more productive than just thinking/planning. You have something concrete to look at and at the end of the day you can say, "Nice! I got this much done.". However, even if that one session went well, and I have something to show for it, any time that's cut out of the planning phase will ultimately come back to bite me.

I need to adjust my perspective on what I consider productive and find the value that comes from having a solid plan/idea of how you want to approach a project. This will ultimately lead to more productivity and improve my own abilities as a developer.

Top comments (0)