DEV Community

rewriteinrustpls
rewriteinrustpls

Posted on

init 1 - Trying To Enter The Dev World

Introduction

Hello, Dev! This is my first post, so please forgive me if I am breaking any Dev best practices. I intend to write a set of articles in attempt to explore my current thoughts, and to seek wisdom from the Dev community as I try to grow in my career.

The Problem

I currently work in the field of RPA (Robotic Process Automation). While I've learned a lot while working in the field, I feel I may have reached a ceiling. It's not entirely too technical, and I do love the development part of it the most, so I figure I want to pivot more into a developer role. Additionally, I've come to realize that RPA most of the time is more of a hindrance than a boon (it only serves to increase technical debt within an organization). This is something I'm not comfortable with based on a morality standpoint.

So I'd love to get more into a traditional development role. No chance for that within my current organization: I've been pigeonholed as the RPA expert, as well as my group doesn't really have any true development roles available.

So I need to enter the world of development through another organization.

My Background

My primary coding language in the past has been python. I have used it in personal projects, as well as I have developed some machine learning POC's in the past for work.

I love Linux, and I use Arch Linux at home. I also am currently learning C/C++ & Rust.

My Goal

To find a role that falls more in line with my want of a developer career. I'd ideally like to work with Linux, but that is not a must. I'm open to learning any language, but I'm particularly attracted to more systems level languages. Beyond that I'm not really sure what kind of development work I want to be doing.

I need to figure out the following:

  • What area of development I want to work in
  • How I can build skills in that area

I'll spend the next month mulling over these points, but in the meantime if anyone has any insight, feel free to comment.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
artoodeeto profile image
aRtoo

how about IOT devices? c/c++/rust are being used in that area. if you know robotics then it would be easy transition or IOT security (this is what I want) same languages but you need deep deep knowledge

Collapse
 
rewriteinrustp1 profile image
rewriteinrustpls

Good advice! I should clarify though: the 'Robotic' in RPA is misleading: it is referring to software 'bots' that automate business tasks.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.