DEV Community

Cover image for How I passed the Azure Fundamentals with mostly free content 📑
Rishab Kumar
Rishab Kumar

Posted on

How I passed the Azure Fundamentals with mostly free content 📑

So I recently took the #AzureCertified challenge and started preparing for the AZ-900 Azure Fundamentals certificate. It's the starting point in Azure certifications.
Alt Text
Fortunately I was able to pass it last night with a score of 880 (not great, but I will take it!)

Courses:

Again @andrewbrown to the rescue! Andrew published his free AZ-900 course on FreeCodeCamp Youtube Channel.
I also went through the Microsoft Learn path for Azure Fundamentals and must say that I loved this new approach of learning! Two great things about Microsoft learn:

  • Knowledge Checks
  • Hands On labs

Preparation:

I announced that I will be taking the Azure Certification on Twitter. This helped me connect to some great motivated individuals that are pursuing the same path. I was motivated!
I did study around 30-60 min daily for about 20 days.
The tough part initially was that I would compare AWS services to Azure and then forget the exact names of Azure Services. This can be an issue, since exam had some questions about which service to use in which scenario, and the options would have similar names (not exact).
So I started taking notes and used Andrew's course for my revision after going through the Microsoft Learn modules.

Get Certified 💪:

So the two resources that I used are totally free, also you can sign up for the Azure Free Tier, but not necessarily, since the Microsoft Learn Platform launched sandbox environment for you! Isn't that great!
Also, I was able to sign-up for one of the Microsoft Virtual Training sessions where they offered free voucher to take the AZ-900 exam! I don't think they are doing these anymore right now, but I would keep an eye.
Also, I will be updating my notes here
Good Luck with your Cloud Journey ☁ !

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Awesome man

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

I started to learn yesterday and will probably write the exam on mid July this year

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Good Luck!

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Do you need to know everything? Holy hell. This is a lot of stuff and acronyms and services to remember