DEV Community

Cover image for Comparison is Both a Thief and Bringer of Joy
Summer Rizzo
Summer Rizzo

Posted on

Comparison is Both a Thief and Bringer of Joy

It is common advice to avoid comparing yourself and your progress as a developer to others because it can lead to feelings of inadequacy and insecurity. Such comparisons are futile because they aren't an accurate representation of your progress and current status; there will always be someone "better" - whatever that term may mean to you in context.

I support the above notion, but I also want to suggest the idea of a nourishing comparison: your current and past self.

Think about where you were when you first began your journey into becoming a developer. In any case, you have gained some amount of knowledge since that point. Even if you only began moments ago, you have at the very least solidified the consideration to do so. It's easy to forget your starting points, especially when there is a daunting amount of knowledge on the horizon. But, the amount of knowledge you don't know does not negate the amount you have retained.

When I first began coding, it took me months to truly understand the fundamentals of concepts such as loops. I felt alienated by peers who grasped concepts I was struggling to understand. It took me a few years before I realized that, despite how refined it was, I had gained a valuable skill. Furthermore, there was nothing stopping me from continuing that refinement.

Take a second to reflect on how far you've come. This a friendly reminder that all the knowledge you've gained in your process is worth something.

Take pride in what you know, and with ♡, happy coding.

Top comments (0)