DEV Community

Robert McIsaac
Robert McIsaac

Posted on

5: JS or Python?

The next decision I had to make was: which programming language? I had already narrowed down my choices to two. JavaScript seemed to be pretty ubiquitous and all-but-essential for web development, so that was a solid contender. But Python was also very popular, partly due to it being so 'human-readable'. How to decide?

What I began to understand was that while each programming language had its strengths and weaknesses, the underlying concepts of programming remained essentially the same. It was learning these programming concepts that was important, not necessarily the programming language itself. So, learning a language more accessible to newbies like myself sounded like the best recipe for success. JavaScript would have to wait. It was time to learn some Python.

Top comments (0)