DEV Community

Cover image for One Breath - Kotlin and Breathing
Roberto Orozco
Roberto Orozco

Posted on • Originally published at isscroberto.com

One Breath - Kotlin and Breathing

A few years ago I discovered meditation and mindfulness and I've been practicing it since then.

As a side effect, I've been also paying attention to breathing. As I become more conscious about it I realize I was constantly breathing wrong. I didn't even know that was possible!

I dived a little more into the subject and I found out that multiple factors such as stress and anxiety mess up with our natural way of breathing.

Breathing provides a gateway between mind and body.

Fortunately, the solution is quite simple. Resetting your natural breathing cycle can be done by performing a slow breathing exercise a couple times a day. A lot of benefits come with good breathing, just to mention a few:

  • Reduction of stress
  • Natural painkiller
  • Better sleep
  • Controls blood pressure
  • Increased energy level
  • Improves self-awareness

Why not put this technique into an app? I wanted to explore Kotlin, so I created One Breath, a very simple app that helps you recover your innate natural breathing with a simple slow breathing exercise.

It has only one main screen where you can set a few preferences and start a new breathing session:

  • Sound. Enable sound feedback on inhaling and exhaling.
  • Duration. Select duration of the exercise, you can choose between 2, 5 and 10 minutes.
  • Vibration. Enable or disable vibration feedback on inhaling and exhaling.

Once you've set up your settings just tap the dot in the center and the session will start.

Screenshot_20180212-001442.png

That's all, please take a look at it 🙂 Leave a comment on how can I improve it and a rating on Play Store would be awesome.

Check the repo and feel free to contribute.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

Hi Roberto. As a fellow programmer and mindfulness fan, I just wanted to say that I love your app idea. In fact, I had often thought about making a breathing app myself. So instead of being sad that you got to it first, I am thrilled to be meeting others like you. This truly is the dev community. Thank you!

Collapse
 
robertoor profile image
Roberto Orozco

Hi Cubicle Buddha! I'm glad you liked the idea, in fact, I'm looking to take One Breath to the next level and contributors are very wanted. Please take a look at the repo and feel free to contact me if you'd like to contribute.