DEV Community

Cover image for Everest: A gorgeous REST API client written in JavaFX
Rohit Awate
Rohit Awate

Posted on • Updated on

Everest: A gorgeous REST API client written in JavaFX

Hi! I'm Rohit, a student currently in the second-year of Computer Engineering. For the past 4 months, I've been building a REST API client with JavaFX. I'm really excited to share my work with you folks!

Windows10

My goal with this project was to make something similar to Postman and Insomnia but in a lighter package using JavaFX without compromising on the beautiful design that Electron-based applications come with, while maintaining a comparable level of functionality. I'm currently focused on optimizing every thing that comes under my radar but I also add new features occasionally.

Here are some of the core features:

  • A gorgeous user-interface.
  • Making GET, POST, PUT, DELETE and PATCH requests. (duh)
  • Multi-tab layout.
  • History tab to quickly search through your recent requests.
  • Support for custom themes via JavaFX CSS!
  • A Visualizer which shows you a nice tree for your response bodies
  • Being written in Java, Everest is inherently cross-platform.

Okay enough, my beautiful README is getting jealous so why don't you go check her out on GitHub: https://github.com/RohitAwate/Everest

Please try out the alpha and let me know what you think! :)

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
matteojoliveau profile image
Matteo Joliveau

This is awesome, I'll follow closely the development (maybe contribute something if I have time :D).
May I suggest adding the final JAR file to the GitHub release for folks who wish to use it without having to rebuild it from sources?

Collapse
 
rohit profile image
Rohit Awate

Thank you so much! Looking forward to your contribution.

I already have a JAR (an alpha release) up on GitHub Releases for you to try out. Here's the link: github.com/RohitAwate/Everest/rele...

Give it a go if you have time and let me know what you think! :)

Collapse
 
matteojoliveau profile image
Matteo Joliveau

I build it from source, it looks gorgeous!
With some more features, it can become a serious player in the world of REST clients.

Thread Thread
 
rohit profile image
Rohit Awate

Woah thanks! That really made my day. :)

Apart from these, what other features would you like to see?

Thread Thread
 
rohit profile image
Rohit Awate

I just realized something.

If you're building from source, I'd suggest you build off the 'core-optimization' branch rather than master. This one, as the name suggests is for optimizing the internals, which is great, but I've also heavily changed the Visualizer making it far far lighter than the one you'll find on master.

Thread Thread
 
matteojoliveau profile image
Matteo Joliveau • Edited

I would add the following, in no particular order:

  • Save requests (so that I could name them and reuse them, maybe adding also an option to export them so I can sync them between computers would be great)
  • Group requests (so that I can organize them better, for example by project or something)
  • A generator for CURL strings, maybe even some popular language, like swagger.io does. This can be tricky so take it just as a light suggestion, but it would be really great to have at some point!
  • GraphQL client (like GraphiQL but better, with support to headers and such. It is very simple to implement, normally GraphQL queries are simple POST requests with a particular query string in the body object.)
Thread Thread
 
rohit profile image
Rohit Awate

Great! Thanks for your input.
I'll try my best to incorporate these. :)

Collapse
 
respam profile image
Satya Prakash Mahapatra

Great to see someone building beautiful and useful apps using JavaFX in the age of JavaScript and electron. Will definitely try it out and help if possible.

Collapse
 
rohit profile image
Rohit Awate

Glad you liked it! I'll be writing a technical piece about Everest very soon and also have some big announcements soon so stay tuned! :)

Collapse
 
pragmaticpi profile image
Piyush Kumar

I am a core java developer, and I must say it is great stuff and beautifully done. Looking forward to contribute. I dont have much knowledge about javaFx but can help on core logic.

Collapse
 
rohit profile image
Rohit Awate

Thanks Piyush! I'm glad you loved Everest.
Feel free to contribute in any way possible! :)