DEV Community

Rohan Kaicker
Rohan Kaicker

Posted on

Hacktoberfest Week 2 (Pt. 1)

To start this week off, I came across the AdonisJS Framework. Up until now, the only framework that I was really familiar with was Express.js, but I alway sknew that others existed but never really looked into them.

There are certain benefits to AdonisJS in that it is considered to be "fully featured", whereas Express.js may be seen as more barebones.

With Express, you often have to use various npm packages to get the same level of functionality that Adonis offers straight out of the box.

This includes:

  1. Authentication
  2. ORM
  3. Templating

I saw a few issues in their documentation repo, and I figured I'd fix two simple issues and count them towards 1 for my Release 0.2 (in my OSD600 class).

The issues I fixed were:

  1. Issue 147
  2. Issue 180

Admittedly, these were very simple issues to fix (just fixing up some erroneous references to some functions), but I still felt as though they were important to fix to prevent confusion for new users of the framwork.

The PRs I filed were:

  1. PR 189
  2. PR 191

Top comments (0)