DEV Community

Cover image for Two days since I started studying Swift and that what I learned
Rossano D'Angelo
Rossano D'Angelo

Posted on

Two days since I started studying Swift and that what I learned

It’s been two days since I started studying Swift basic concepts and this is what I learned:

  • Variables and constants
  • Compound types
    • Int
    • Double
    • String
    • Bool
  • Operation between different types
  • Type annotation and type inference
  • Arrays - not so confident yet
  • Sets - not so confident yet
  • Tuples - not so confident yet

I know it’s like another typed programming language but I prefer going slow and consolidate things like operations with arrays and tuples because, as I understood, they’re fundamental - especially the tuple.

It looks good so far 🚀

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

do you code in other language before? how does swift compare?

Collapse
 
rossanodan profile image
Rossano D'Angelo

Yes, I use JavaScript everyday at work. I use React with Flow - so types. Not so different than Swift. I found new the syntax. But I can get used to it, it looks more familiar day by day :)