DEV Community

Cover image for What's your morning routine?
Nočnica Mellifera for Run [X]

Posted on

What's your morning routine?

Cover image by AcombesFR, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Being at home for 15 months forced me to figure out the morning routine that actually helped me, as I tried to enter a mental state where work felt easy.

I did everything from 'roll out of bed and immediately open my laptop' to 'two hours of self care before I even touch my phone' and have settled into something that works okay. For me the essentials are:

  • shower
  • light exercise
  • make a cup of coffee (I froth the milk with a cheap device that, 9 months later, is my favorite pandemic purchase)
  • drink coffee sitting in the back yard while the dogs run around
  • space out looking at TikTok for half an hour
  • sit down at my desk
  • realize an hour later that I didn't eat anything

And that's how it goes! What's your morning routine?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
motlib profile image
Motlib
  • Get up at 5:10am
  • Prepare tea, eat a bit of bread with jam, honey or cheese (I guess typical German style breakfast)
  • Start work at around 5:45am - time to concentrate on some difficult tasks, as colleagues will not interrupt me before 8am.
  • get first coffee around 7am
  • Second breakfast (bread, cereals,...) around 9am
  • Perhaps another coffee if I feel sleepy
  • Lunch break from 12am to 1pm, eat something small, relax a bit
  • Definitely have a coffee after lunch break
  • End work around 3:30pm or 4pm
  • Run some errands, go out with my wife, play with the cats, cook dinner, whatever has to be done
  • Get sleepy between 9 and 10pm, get into bed, read something, scroll through twitter, watch videos, fall asleep

Note: Coffee has to be on a fixed schedule for me, otherwise I drink way too much...

Collapse
 
margo_hdb profile image
Margo McCabe

I feel this! I've definitely learned with working from home that it's helpful to still wake up early to have time before getting straight on the computer. I also try to do some combo of exercise / dog walk / breakfast / chill before logging on.

Collapse
 
lexlohr profile image
Alex Lohr

Get up at 6, shower, ride my bike to the bakery, brew some espresso (2-4 cups in the morning) and have a breakfast, take my kids to the kindergarten, sit down to work; I first check my messages, pull repos and install updates if necessary. Then I prepare for the daily standup.

On Saturday, I stand up at the same time, shower and ride my bike to the market 14km from and buy fresh food for the week. When I return between 8-9, we have breakfast.

I sleep in on Sundays until 8, if the kids don't wake me earlier.

Good espresso is important for me. I'm sort of an instant human - just add espresso.

Collapse
 
markadel profile image
Mark Adel
  • Wake up
  • Get out of bed
  • Sit on my desk
  • Work for 8 hours
  • Get back to bed and play chess on phone
  • Sleep
Collapse
 
nocnica profile image
Nočnica Mellifera

realizing after writing this I should have gotten that sweet sweet Amazon affiliate money for linking to a milk frother... oh well, It's a good milk frother IDK