DEV Community

Ramesh Vishnoi
Ramesh Vishnoi

Posted on

Why micromanagement is good ?

I remember having discussion with one of newly joined colleague about general working style, company culture, timing, etc

Somehow we started on micro management and this person was very against it. He valued his freedom more than anything else.

Lot of young people who joined corporate world during COVID think on the same lines. (Think themself as master of their trade)

This generation usually do not know how to work efficiently, how to prioritise or communicate across different teams and also clear all blockers.

When junior engineers do not receive adequate supervision or mentorship from their senior colleagues, they may struggle to perform their tasks efficiently. They may face difficulties in understanding complex technical problems, or they may not have the necessary skills to complete their work in a timely manner. This can lead to frustration and a lack of motivation, which can further impact their productivity.

Getting micromanaged is not easy.

I remember my time, for 2 years - my tasks were getting prioritised by my manager, designs and flow finalized before development work.
Basically my next day was getting planned on the day before.
I was frustrated, had no choice or freedom over tasks, had to justify where I spend my time.

But this was the time, I was most productive, had very high learning curve. Understood difference between good code and bad code, learned about code standardisation, naming convention.
I was not running for next shiny framework, library or language.
It was pure grind.

Micromanagement puts constraints and Creativity comes from constraint.
Great teams are hungry for constraints, they want to understand all the aspects, restrict the space, start developing, feel each other, appreciate each other's aptitude and skills

Similarly time is constraint. You can timebox your project to force creativity flow.

So micromanagement is not a bad thing, instead it’s a must for junior engineers.

Top comments (0)