DEV Community

Sadie
Sadie

Posted on • Updated on

My first Hackathon: Days 1-2

Welcome

I guess I should welcome everyone (Hey Mom!) to my first post.

I'm Sadie. I'm a frontend dev with a background in almost anything creative and if I haven't done it I could probably be talked into trying it haha


About this blog

 

Content

This is a very unpolished blog. Or it's going to be. I'm following the digital garden tenets and doing it my way.

Meaning, I'm not researching jack, unless I want to.

I'm not saying my thoughts, feelings, and ideas are concrete and forever, unless the just happen to be.

I might not even keep these posts up forever, unless they are.

It's writing in the grey, and writing as organically as possible, you will see a bruise or two on the fruit of this garden.

I'm writing my ideas, thoughts, and experience from various states of conception 🌱 to death ⚰️.

And I'm not writing to give an answer, I'm writing my experience and what's going on or what I did. That's all. I've given up the expectation of "having answers." I think everyone including myself is doing what they can and what's worked for them.

You'll find my reflection of that sentiment here.

Topics

I'm mainly going to focus this on my career and my interests and how they intersect with tech as we know it. My interests range widely so, buckle up I suppose? lol

Interactions

I'm not one to be on social media or interacting with many people. So I do appreciate comments that come from good will and intentions, however, I might not respond!


On to the Log

 

Intro to The Hackathon

I wanted to jot down some thoughts I'm having with my first Hackathon.

So I'm in a group of 3, all from my digital community, Skillcrush.

I'm acting as dev/app interface designer, and the others are a dev and a designer.

We're participating in a week long (Nov 16 - 23) hackathon put together by mintbean.io. Our task, thankfully we have a direction, is to create a painting app that has the follow user stories:

As a user, I can drag my mouse across the screen to make free-form lines.
As a user, I can click areas of the screen with my mouse to fill them with a color, texture or pattern.

Day 1-2 thoughts

It's challenging in ways I wasn't anticipating!!

Communication, workflow, and getting the tools to work as expected is the biggest hurdle so far.

Not to mention my own mental hangups of "not knowing what I'm doing" and "not being good enough" whatever that means.

I want to code some of the interactions such at "dark/light theme toggle" and "distraction free". Instead I'm finding myself googling and falling down the rabbit hole!

I'm excited by the idea but just kinda immobilize by the "what if I don't figure it out" aspect. I think I need to write it out and play. Let me shake the "perfection" and embrace the "what happens when I try this?" point of view. Curious to see how day 3 will read haha

I'm glad I'm trying this Hackathon out because getting these interactions with others, trying to find ways to give suggestions and communicate disagreement and encouragement isn't something I've been having a lot of lately.

I've been in my bubble of me and working with myself for almost 2 years now. Which is nice, but I like working in a team and tackling something together. It's been an eye opening experience and I can feel myself being challenged.

Top comments (0)