DEV Community

Sahesh
Sahesh

Posted on

How many hours do you spend to improve your coding skills?

I think many of you are working as developers. But in this discussion I want to ask how many hours do you spend to improve your coding skills apart from your job. May be to learn a new language. How do you spend the time ? (like doing a project) Share your thoughts.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

Coding is usually referring to the writing code part. Learning a new language is more meta, as in usually a new paradigm, shift of mind.
I guess you are referring to a more broad definition, so as any answer .. it depends.

Few hours a week is enough to have a healthy evolution over time, I would say, especially if at work you do only 1 language/1 framework/1 paradigm, you need to get out of that bubble, for your career sake. (I say career as opposite to a job, where you care only about the present). You can do 0 hours or have bursts between jobs or in holidays.

A few juniors (previous to their first dev job) usually spent on average 4-5h daily just to learn, with 12h peaks. Over time the duration decreases, especially if you learn new things at work.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

It used to be about an hour a day in the evenings.

Now, for some months it went down to almost zero for kid- and sleep-reasons (trying to get 8 hrs every day).

I'm trying to have ~2 hrs a week of focussed practice (currently doing this one) now, plus an hour here and there whenever things are slow at work.

Collapse
 
hamzaanis profile image
Hamza Anis

I do this whenever I get time. An average of 2-3 hours per day.

Collapse
 
beginagain profile image
Todd Hogarth

I recently read the book Clean Coder, which recommends 20 hours per week of purposeful practice. I'm not there yet.