DEV Community

Cover image for DollarSite, a minimalistic browser extension
SaidiAli
SaidiAli

Posted on • Updated on

DollarSite, a minimalistic browser extension

What I built

I am building a minimalist browser extension that tells a user if the site they have visited is web monetized and which content does it offer for their money. Some what you might say it’s like the coil extension but not really, this will have a few more far turns to it as I’ll be updating along the way.

Submission Category:

Creative Catalyst

Demo

demo link coming soon .. 🔜

Link to Code

https://github.com/SaidiAli/DollarSite

How I built it

I am going to use react and react materials for the UI

Additional Resources/Info

I was lagged behind by some errors I couldn’t figure out in time and I was caught up but I’ll continue working on the project even after the hackathon and I’ll update you as I go along.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dfoderick profile image
Dave Foderick

There is something important in this idea as web monetization grows. Users need to know how much it will cost to view the content and be able to select from a range of choices. There needs to be protocols developed to handle this.

For example, price per bandwidth. Additional meta tag could specify:
0.1 per minute for low res video
0.2 per minute for high res video

I look forward to seeing what you are up to.