DEV Community

SaidiAli
SaidiAli

Posted on • Updated on

Update⚠️: Official government communications through WhatsApp bot.

What I built

If you haven't been following, start from here then fall back ...
Link to first post
I’ve now put some functionality to the app. You can now ask for helplines, check for how to prevent the disease and it’s symptoms. It’s quite very basic but it’s a step to something bigger.
I’ve also applied for a twitter developer account so I can integrate it in the app to fetch tweets from the twitter account of the Ministry of Health Uganda since this is where official communication is passed.

Demo Link

whatsapp link to the bot
Click on the link and send the pre-filled message to connect to the bot. Then send ‘help’ to get started and get instructions on how the bot can help you.

Link to Code

https://github.com/SaidiAli/covid-19-autoresponse-whatsapp-bot

How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?)

  • Laravel for backend services
  • twilio WhatsApp api

Additional Resources/Info

I deployed the app on heroku for free ☺️.
Great platform for deploying apps.

Top comments (0)