DEV Community

Sascha Manns
Sascha Manns

Posted on • Updated on

Searching for a easy to use and free option for merging PDFs.

Currently i'm working on an .NET-Core project, what supports me and other to write job applications.
The PDF generation is done by LaTEX. Now i'm seraching for a option to merge the PDFs.
I searched the internet, but found mostly just nonfree options.
Maybe anyone knows a alternative?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
kryptobi profile image
kryptobi • Edited

Hi,
you can also use LateX to merge the PDFs.
Let me know if you need a Code example

Collapse
 
saigkill profile image
Sascha Manns

Hi Kryptobi. Thats right. But you have to write the full path in the latex document. For me and my job applications it is enough, to just write the pathes to the needed pdfs and compile them. But my idea is to write a project, that everyone can use. So i set a special directory, where people can place their stuff. I thought to propose the following naming: 6_latest_certificate, 5_next_older_certificate and so on.
So i planned to create a string array with the needed pathes and sort them descending by the numbers (and so by time).
So i thought to use any free extension, give them the array and it outputs a merged pdf.

Collapse
 
kryptobi profile image
kryptobi

Ah i understand
I found this

github.com/Api2Pdf/api2pdf.dotnet

MIT license and easy to use :)

Thread Thread
 
saigkill profile image
Sascha Manns

Looks good. I try it out. Thank you for the hint.

Thread Thread
 
kryptobi profile image
kryptobi

Your welcome. Happy coding

Collapse
 
spirix3 profile image
Nick Muoh

Try PDFSam pdfsam.org/, the basic version. It should do the job