DEV Community

sainimohit23
sainimohit23

Posted on

Best way to learn linux with the concepts of operating systems?

Hi, Dev community. This is my first post on this platform. I am a final year engineering undergrad. Right now I am a data science intern at Yatra. At Yatra, I have recently switched from Windows to Linux. Apart from model building, NLP and data science, our team at Yatra also does some DevOps stuff and maintains its own servers. Right now I am pretty comfortable with what our team does and I am able to complete my tasks. But, the problem is that I am new to Linux and my networking and os concepts are very week. So, even though I am completing my tasks comfortably, I still feel that there are some loopholes in my understanding of the stuff I do.

For a basic understanding of networking, I am reading the book by James F. Kurose. For Linux I want someone to suggest a book that covers both OS concepts Linux. I just want to learn enough so that I can write better programs in terms of system resources. I don't want to go deeper into the kernel and other stuff because my prime area of interest is deep learning and AI.

In short, my goal is to become a good software engineer that knows data science. I don't want to be just a data scientist.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
akhilanandbv003 profile image
akhilanandbv003

I would start with the Linux pocket guide.

Collapse
 
agitri profile image
agitri

On what level of ‘new’ are you towards linux? Linux for dummies or more in depth?

Collapse
 
sainimohit23 profile image
sainimohit23

I started using Linux 2 months back.

Collapse
 
agitri profile image
agitri

I would suggest 2 books to be honest;

  1. Linux Pocket Guide: Essential Commands -> quick and most common used commands.
  2. Linux in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference -> a more in depth book for more in depth understanding of the system.