DEV Community

Cover image for Making a Discord bot with Python
Seth
Seth

Posted on

Making a Discord bot with Python

Discord is a large communication platform that has been immensely popular among gamers, but in recent years has expanded its reaches to anyone looking to create or get involved in a community of any size. It has a wide range of different features and is extensible with bots, which is partly why it’s so popular.

I’ve had experience making Discord bots before, and I am actually a verified bot developer (which just means I was among the first people to get a bot verified on the platform). Whilst I’m definitely a long way from being a top developer, I do have intermediate experience with making bots in discord.py, and I’ll be walking you through getting a bot setup and making your first few basic commands in this simple tutorial.

For this tutorial, you’ll require:

A Discord account
An IDE with Python support (I’ll be using VSCode)
Python installed on your device, with access to Pip
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I would also recommend:

Basic Python knowledge
Moderate knowledge of how to use Discord
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

(If you have any problems, feel free to reach out to me through the comments and I’ll do my best to try and fix your issue)

When you're ready to get going, you can view the full tutorial for free here: https://www.saluki.tech/2021/06/19/making-a-discord-bot-with-python/

You'll also be able to get speedy help with any problems you may have by commenting.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
sloan profile image
Sloan the DEV Moderator

Hi there, we encourage authors to share their entire posts here on DEV, rather than mostly pointing to an external link. Doing so helps ensure that readers don’t have to jump around to too many different pages, and it helps focus the conversation right here in the comments section.

If you choose to do so, you also have the option to add a canonical URL directly to your post.

Collapse
 
saluki profile image
Seth

Gotcha! I'll make sure I follow this from now on, and I'll go through and edit my previous posts soon.