DEV Community

Cover image for FEAR & my shining Ruby
Osania - sancodes
Osania - sancodes

Posted on

FEAR & my shining Ruby

For the past 2 weeks, I've been learning Ruby with John C.

Due to other commitiments & the time difference, I haven't attended every live session & have been catching up with lessons & execises via the recordings.

Today with Ruby, I've been going through classes. As someone who previously learnt Java & didn't consider myself well-versed in the language. I had a false and negative sense of what I thought about the language, myself and my ability to understand and use things related to the backend.

For a long time, I shyed away from using anything I saw as a backend language. In my case Java. As I saw it as something I didn't get, which wasn't true. In fact, learning Java at uni was the first time I'd ever done any kind of programming, so I shouldn't have been to hard on myself.

To bring it back to my point. As John explained classes, his explanation was so clear that I immediately remembered what I'd learnt & knew about OOP (object oriented programming).
I'd learnt so much doing Java, which I hadn't recognised or acknowledged. I now felt a sense of achievement & didn't feel as bad as I had done all this time. I actually knew & had learnt stuff. Yeyyy!

Blown out of the water by my new found enjoyment of Ruby, OOP & what I could do. It made me think about my initial negative experience learning Java & why I'd perhaps moved away from certain languages, instead of moving toward them.
So far, I've enjoyed using Ruby & look forward to revisiting Java again at some point.

What I'm trying to get at, is that sometimes we let our past bad experiences define our perception of how hard or difficult something is without ever trying it agan or revisiting things. We can let the fear of (not being good, appearing stupid, technical etc - insert your word/s here)stop us from achieving.

As Will Smith once said, fear can be False Events Appearing Real.
Through my experience with Ruby, it's highlighted to me, I am capable, the back-end might also be an area I quite like and I have nothing to fear. It's all a learning process.

From the tales of a junior dev.

Top comments (0)