DEV Community

Sandeep Balachandran
Sandeep Balachandran

Posted on

How I met your Gatsby

Hey guys,

I have been thinking about challenging myself to learn an entirely new concept lately. Lately have seen some challenges here in the challenge section.Pretty much greate and motivational .

So I wonder how would I challenge myself with a new tech. Since i wanted to start a blog to keep my findings in the near future i decided to go with some blogging platforms. I only researched a little about this. Found wordpress is kind of out of dated . Some of the bloggers i follow were migrated from wordpress to gatsby. Clearly I have no clue about Gatsby. I read terms like Graphql( which seems a good deal for the future), React( gatsby is in react i pressume) and so on.

At work I use angular and laravel for projects and still learning both. Used to work in React like 1 week or so. Maybe i can handle this.

I am thinking about taking 1-2 hours per day until 30th. Starting with this

But before starting i need proper research and your expertise in this matter. So let me know what you think about blogging, gatsby, react or anything comes to your mind regarding this matter.

Also i am very much looking forward to update sections i covered in regular interval.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
laurieontech profile image
Laurie

Best of luck! I've actually written quite a bit on these topics, so it may be helpful for you.

This is a three-part series on how I migrated my site to Gatsby and a number of the things I learned along the way.

And this series talks about javascript code and most everything here was pulled from a React and/or Gatsby starter project.

Collapse
 
sandeepbalachandran profile image
Sandeep Balachandran

Thanks for the concerns. I checked out those posts. Great article. Really liked those references like html5up. Currently on your blog.

I think i should refer the official docs for a fresh start after the readings. Do you have anythign in mind besides these posts?

Collapse
 
laurieontech profile image
Laurie

I'd definitely start with the starter gatsby project. Once you install the dependencies you type


 gatsby new <project-name>` in your terminal. But honestly, the gatsby docs are wonderful and you'll be in good hands there!
Collapse
 
matyifkbt profile image
MatyiFKBT • Edited

Just a couple of days ago I came across this site. I really liked the simplicity of it, so I checked out his github repo for the source code:

GitHub logo mikecrittenden / personal-blog

My Gatsby powered blog

Gatsby + Netlify CMS Starter

This repo contains an example business website that is built with Gatsby, and Netlify CMS: Demo Link.

It follows the JAMstack architecture by using Git as a single source of truth, and Netlify for continuous deployment, and CDN distribution.

Prerequisites

  • Node (I recommend using v8.2.0 or higher)
  • Gatsby CLI

Getting Started (Recommended)

Netlify CMS can run in any frontend web environment, but the quickest way to try it out is by running it on a pre-configured starter site with Netlify. The example here is the Kaldi coffee company template (adapted from One Click Hugo CMS). Use the button below to build and deploy your own copy of the repository:

Deploy to Netlify

After clicking that button, you’ll authenticate with GitHub and choose a repository name. Netlify will then automatically create a repository in your GitHub account with a copy of the files from the…

Then I saw he was using Gatsby to create his site, and it seemed interesting to me.
You should start with the offical documentation, and be sure to check out this video too.
Collapse
 
sandeepbalachandran profile image
Sandeep Balachandran

Yup. First thing tonight. Kudos

Collapse
 
opshack profile image
Pooria A

Great decision, my suggestion would be to start from GraphQL queries

Collapse
 
sandeepbalachandran profile image
Sandeep Balachandran

Sounds great .I've allready started with official docs.Guess it covers GraphQL. Lets see its worthy enough