DEV Community

Rodrigo Isaias Calix
Rodrigo Isaias Calix

Posted on

Series: Things I Wish I Knew Before in JavaScript - Intro

At the beginning when you're starting with JS, one of the things you realize quite fast is that there are so many ways to code something that you want to achieve (other than running that code without breaking everything), at the same time there is a lot of confusion between which method or procedure you should use, and when you look at the code of more advanced JS devs you might want to quit coding... but you don't have to, you can get there too.

I started programming in JS about ten years ago, and I know how frustrating it can be, especially at first when you are trying to run a code that might look like this:

// My cool first serious project
// function switch
const active = false;
var  millionaireswitchproject = function(){
    if(active = true){
        active = false;
    } else {
        active = true;
    }
}

billionaireswitchproject();

//💰💸 stonks! 📈
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I know, I know, this is an exaggeration and projects doesn't tend to look like this... or at least... I hope so...

This series will be based primarily on my own experience, but I'm sure many of you have encountered with some of this problems as well. If you are a beginner, this series could give you deeper insights into the JavaScript language, and if you are a senior JS dev (which I'm not) hopefully you'll learn a thing or two.

This Tuesday October 4th, I will upload the first part (of at least 5 parts) of this series.

Throughout this JavaScript series you'll learn about methods to write fewer lines of code and get the same output as you would in more complex procedures, how to write code of higher quality that's more accessible to others who read it, and insights on different operators and objects of this language.

If any of that interest you, stick with me!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
teejay128 profile image
Joseph Taiwo

Did you say "10 years" 🤯🤯🤯

Collapse
 
schemetastic profile image
Rodrigo Isaias Calix

Hello Joseph! Ammm, yeah about 10 years, I was in high school back then, I'm self taught so of course I had to take my time to learn HTML, CSS and other technologies, also I had to take some pauses due to different circumstances, but I'm still learning it and trying to share a piece of what I have learned, if you are interested, need any advice about coding you can email me at hello@schemetastic.com