DEV Community

Josua Schmid
Josua Schmid

Posted on • Updated on

0.x Major Releases

Dear Ruby gem maintainers

Are you aware that 0.x releases of your libraries have to be treated as major releases by me? – Even and especially if you're following semantic versioning (see https://semver.org/#spec-item-4).

In the list of my Depfu updates I more and more often receive lists like this.

Image description

I feel that you're bailing out of your responsibility for compatibility that we all owe to Matz. You should have every right to change everything you want in your code, but why not simply bump the correct version number part when you do that? Are you afraid of real first digit major versions?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
schmijos profile image
Josua Schmid

Dependencies like this send chills down my spine
Image description