DEV Community

self_discovery
self_discovery

Posted on

Extreme Confident-Less Phase

I am experiencing an extreme confident-less phase in my career. I wonder if this happens to people in general or if it is me. I keep forgetting things I knew or learned and used previously. I cannot decide which way I should go to improve my technical skill set. All these things cumulatively contributing to my consistent low performance at work. Someday this feeling get a bit easier to handle, I feel like I can overcome it slowly. But most of the days I dread over coming to work and submitting any work or answering any query of colleagues. I constantly keep wondering if I was wrong.

Any thought on this?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

Sorry to hear you're having this difficult time. Is there anyone you can speak to at your work? Sometimes just being able to be open about it can help I think, and you might be surprised by their perspective on your contributions!

Maybe seeking out a mentor would be a good idea too? Someone to bounce ideas off and talk through scenarios you've come across at work?

Other than that sometimes I find "taking it back to basics" in my free time can be a great way to reconnect with why I love what I do and build confidence - like doing some basic fun challenges like the ones shared here on Dev, or playing about with CSS for no reason other than to make something for fun!

I hope things turn a corner for you soon ♥️

Collapse
 
selfdiscovery16 profile image
self_discovery

I keep considering speaking to someone and then not doing it because I don't want it to reach anyone at management, I would like to quietly resolve it.

I really think it is a good idea if I could get others perspective on my contribution, but my lack of confidence and fear of becoming an office-talk keeping me shut.

I have started doing "taking it back to basics" things. It is helping a bit by bit. But constant feeling of guiltiness that I should already have clear concept on these things, and unconsciously comparing myself to close colleagues of same age, keeps me wondering if whatever I'm doing will ever be enough.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.