DEV Community

Cover image for Hardstuck Fresh Graduate
Youssef Abdulaziz
Youssef Abdulaziz

Posted on

Hardstuck Fresh Graduate

I'm 1 month away from graduating with a BSc in software engineering. I've always seen myself as a freelance developer but that is kinda hard to start with and even if I wanted to work with a company, their demands will be 1yr experience at minimum.

Although I don't have that much of professional work experience, I`ve done a few projects that verifies my skills.

The question is how can I start my freelance career(or corporate career) giving that internship opportunities hardly exist in my country (Egypt) and nearly everyone want seniors with 5+ yrs. It`s really disappointing.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

If I was in your situation I would start by building products so that get you noticed. Become active on tech Twitter and LinkedIn and use your technical stack to build products that you can put on ProductHunt and GumRoad.

Collapse
 
sem1colons profile image
Youssef Abdulaziz

I haven't heard about the last 2 websites, I'll look into them. Thanks a lot for the advice.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

ProductHunt is most likely the best platform for launching any product you make. This could be a SaaS, PaaS or even something free. You will find many popular tools that you already know or use on there. And GumRoad is good for releasing small types of products like eBooks, and video courses etc...

Collapse
 
askeridos profile image
Adam AUTUORI

Make an ecommerce site for the merchant downstairs

Collapse
 
sem1colons profile image
Youssef Abdulaziz

Already tried that, they all got their "expensive, professional" software. The problem here is that everyone expects a 5+yrs senior

Collapse
 
askeridos profile image
Adam AUTUORI

Have you also considered building software as a SaaS with a monthly subscription? You go to Microsoft Store, Google Play, etc... You look at the kind of application you like, and especially you look at the worst comments. Often they indicate problems and are opportunities.
Try to make something different and sell it...

Thread Thread
 
sem1colons profile image
Youssef Abdulaziz

No, I have never thought of that before. Thanks for the heads up