DEV Community

sforce
sforce

Posted on

What is the best test data generator?

Which tool can you recommend to easily generate test data? Tool must be able to read data schema to generate accurate data permutations and download them as csv files

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
aghost7 profile image
Jonathan Boudreau • Edited

I don't know what kind of language you're using, but I have used casual before and it worked well for my use case:

github.com/boo1ean/casual

ps. You may want to look into property based testing.

Collapse
 
sforce profile image
sforce

Awesome! Thanks Jonathan! I can use this on my side projects. However I was actually asking this for the platform where I can only import csv for test data population.

Collapse
 
aghost7 profile image
Jonathan Boudreau

I'm not sure what the question is. Can you elaborate? I'm probably misunderstanding but you could generate a csv file randomly using aforementioned library. In the past I've used csv-parse and the same author has published a csv-stringify library:

npmjs.com/package/csv-stringify

I've never used this library but perhaps you could combine casual with this one to fit your needs.